Yeovil Town L.F.C.

Yeovil TownBased in Yeovil, Somerset Yeovil Town Ladies Football Club are an English women’s association football club. They are currently competing in the top-tier of English leagues in the FA Women Super League(WSL). Affiliated with Yeovil Town F.C. the ladies of Yeovil Town are new to the top of the food order and are fighting to remain.

The team had a usual climb to the FA WSL that saw them jump from a much lower division. The ladies are currently in last place and seem poised to battle for a chance to stay in the top flight.

History of the Club

The team was originally formed as Yetmister Ladies in 1990. Tony Baverstock formed the team and helped them gain entrance into the South West League Division. In 1993 the club was renamed as Sherborne Ladies and Yeovil Town in 1999. The team continued competing in the lower divisions without a trophy win. Until the 2004-05 season that saw the Yeovil Town Ladies lift the Somerset County Cup.

2005-06 season saw the ladies barely miss out on a league promotion, which they made up for in the 2006-07 season. The Glovers were promoted to the South West Combination League where their first season saw them secure a 4th place finish. The team had another good campaign in 2008-09 season by securing a 3rd place finish under new coach Nathan Jones.

Following season saw the ladies get 21-0 and 9-1 wins to race to the top of the tables, while making headlines by progressing in the FA Cup. 2010-11 season saw the Yeovil Town Ladies compete in the FA Women’s Premier League Southern Division, where they only remained for 1 season as they were relegated back to the South Wet Combination.

Yeovil Town team

Recent Accomplishments

The Ladies first full season under the new management duo of Nigel Williams and Sarah Lawler saw the team complete a double as they won the league and the Somerset FA Women’s Senior Cup. They earned their promotion back into the FA Women’s Premier League Southern Division with two games to spare.

This time around the ladies were not planning to leave so quickly as they finished the 2012-13 season in 3rd place. The series of great performances earned the team their acceptance into the new expanded FA WSL 2. In their first year in the new league, the Yeovil Town Ladies F.C. were named the FAWSL 2 Club of the Year.

Two back to back finishes in 4th place was followed by a championship run in the 2016 season. The win of FA WSL 2 secured the teams promotion into the FA WSL 1 the highest league in England women’s football hierarchy. While they placed in last place in their first go in the new league, they avoided relegation thanks to the FA club licensing application process.

The Ladies are currently in last place with just 3 points in 13 games played. They are however only 3 points behind Everton Ladies and are still in the hunt to avoid relegation.

Current Roster & Staff

Yeovil Town Ladies FC have a squad of 22 players. 15 players are from England, 5 from Wales and two other players are from New Zealand and Ireland. Ladies best scorers are midfielder Emily Syme and forward Ellie Mason with two goals apiece.

Chairman for the Yeovil Town Ladies is Gary Dawkins and Lee Burch manages the team. Head coaching duties fall on the trio of Louise Hutton, Ryan Moon, and Colin Stapes.

Stadium & Kits

Yeovil Town Ladies FC play their games in the Avenue Stadium in Dorchester. A stadium with a capacity of 9,565.

Team wears the dark green with white stripes combination for their home games and the dark yellow with black stripes combo for their away games.