Arsenal Women Football Club

ArsenalFounded in 1987, Arsenal Women Football Club, was formerly known as the Arsenal Ladies Football Club. Arsenal Women Football Club founded by Vic Akers, who remained the coach until 2009. With over 49 titles, Arsenal Women FC is considered to be one of the most successful clubs in English women’s football. Even though they have not won any titles since 2012, they still remain one of the top dogs in their league, just like their affiliated team Arsenal Football Club.

History of the Club

Arsenal Women Football Club has a history dating back 32 years. Originally the club was branded Arsenal Women. They won their first cup in the Women’s League Cup in 1991-92. In 92, they were promoted to the FA Women’s Premier League, and won the title on their first year. They have competed at the top-tier of English women football since 92.

One of the most accomplished teams in women’s football, Arsenal won 12 of the 17 titles in the FA Women’s Premier League. During the same time span they finished second 3 times and won a dominating seven titles in a row. This record does not appear to be matched or beaten in a much more closely competed league.

Women of Arsenal Women also dominated the FA Women’s cup, a competition held concurrently with the league, 14 times. The Women’s League Cup also saw a decade of Arsenal Women dominance as they lifted the trophy ten times. Eight of these trophies were lifted as a part of a double-double in which they lifted the league and cup at the same time. Arsenal have also represented England a whooping seven times in the UEFA Women’s Champions League, reaching the semis two separate times.

Arsenal Women Football Club team

Recent Accomplishments

In 2006 Arsenal accomplished something no other British club had done to that point, by beating Umeå IK and winning the UEFA Women’s Champions League. That year saw another record where an English team won six trophies in a single year, completing an unheard-of sextuple. While they did not repeat in the Champions League, they finished the next season with a sextuple.

Arsenal went 108 games without defeat from October 2003 to March 2009. During this stretch they won a record 51 league games in a row. The team remains as the only team in England to complete 5 trebles. The single most decorated English women’s squad, Arsenal reigned supreme in all competitions for well over a decade.

In 2017, Arsenal Women was rebranded as Arsenal Women Football Club. As of Jan 2019, Arsenal have gone 7 seasons without a title. This is credited more to the improvements of the competitiveness of the league.

Current Squad & Staff

Current team has players from 11 countries, while majority of the 28-woman squad is from England. All the players are operating as professionals, playing soccer as a career. In contrast, when the team won the Champions League, most of their players had separate full-time jobs. Some of the best players on the current squad are: GK Sari Van Veenendaal, LB Emma Mitchell, CM Janni Arnth, CM Leah Williamson, CM Jordan Nobbs, and CAM Danielle Van De Donk.

Current Technical Staff consists mainly of Brits. Vic Akers remains as the Honorary President. Clare Wheatley is the GM, Joe Montemurro is the Manager with Aaron D’Antino sitting as his Assistant Coach.

Stadium & Kits

Arsenal Women Football Club plays majority of their home games at Meadow Park. A stadium with a capacity of 4000, most league games are attended by an average of a thousand supporters. Since they are the women’s club for Arsenal FC they are also allowed to play some of their games in the legendary Emirates Stadium.

Women of Arsenal wear the same color home and away jerseys as their male counterparts.